Grenville Turner appointed Non-Executive Director of DCLG

Countrywide plc

Friday, January 24, 2014

The Department for Communities and Local Government has appointed Grenville Turner as a Non-Executive Director to the Department’s Board.

Grenville joins the Board as the fourth Non-Executive Director for the Department in addition to Sara Weller, Stephen Hay and Nick Marham.

Permanent Secretary, Sir Bob Kerslake, welcomed Grenville's appointment by saying:

 “I am pleased to welcome Grenville as Non-Executive Director for the Department. He brings with him a wealth of knowledge and experience which will be an asset to the Department. We are looking forward to having him on board.”

 On his appointment to the role, Grenville said:

“I am looking forward to joining the DCLG Board. I hope that my experience and knowledge of communities and the property sector will allow me to make a valuable contribution to the DCLG. I look forward to working with my colleagues on the Board to enrich the debates within Government and regulators when devising policies and plans to ensure we create vibrant and cohesive places for people to live and work.”


1. Non-Executive Board Members are appointed by the Secretary of State and are experts from outside Government. Their role is to advise the Department on performance (including agreeing key performance indicators), operational issues (including the operational/delivery implications of policy proposals), and on the effective management of the Department. They will also provide support, guidance and challenge on the progress and implementation of the business plan, and be involved in recruiting, appraising and planning succession of senior executives.

Press Contacts

Press Office

07721 439043

Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Twitter
Our website uses cookies so that we can provide a better service. Continue to use the site as normal if you’re happy with this, or find out how to manage cookies.